Meeting Maya

My husband and I spent a long weekend in Chicago.  He was there for work and I was there for play.  He discovered a food truck rally during a lunch break and we had lunch there on Sunday.  The food was great but the event I’m going to recount is what made the entire trip memorable:

We were sitting at a communal table when a little girl with no hair came and sat down along with her mom.  I knew I had to talk to the little girl.  Her name is Maya.  I asked the mom if her daughter has cancer and she said yes and gave me permission to talk to her.

I told Maya that last year I didn’t have any hair either.  We talked about chemo and about our Power Ports (I have a scar from mine; she still has her port in).  We showed each other our port sites.  She told me that she’s been able to go to school during her treatments.

Maya and her parents live in Oak Brook, IL, a Chicago suburb, and they came to the food trucks that day because Maya wanted to have a lobster roll like the one she had the year before.  Her mom told me that Maya had been looking forward to it for a year.

Maya has neuroblastoma, a very serious childhood cancer that is difficult to cure.  Maya has been in treatment since the age of four.  She has a beautiful smile and a strong spirit.  I asked if I could pray for her and she said yes. After that we departed.  I wish I’d thought to ask for the mom’s contact information so I could keep up with Maya but it never crossed my mind.

I know in my heart that we were meant to be in that place at that exact time.  May God bless Maya and her parents and keep her strong for her treatments.  If you think about it please pray for her or send some positive thoughts in her direction.  Cancer sucks, and childhood cancer really, really sucks.  I’ll never know if Maya is cured but I’ll pray for her to be whole and healthy very soon.IMG_5653

Leave a Reply

